1 – Bayons church (listed building)
The church of Notre-Dame de Bayons was part of a priory belonging
to the Abbey of Ile Barbe on the River Saône at Lyons. Dating from the
13th century, it is one of the major churches in the Southern Alps.
2 – Château de Sigoyer
The castle is in ruins but offers an exceptional view
across the Durance valley, site of many great historical events from the crusades
to the return of Napoleon from Elba.
Interactive screen in the outside church wall gives you the history of the castle.
3 – Gigors fountain and mill wheel
Gigors is one of the so-called Quatre Châteaux (four castles) in the region, the others being
Turriers, Bellaffaire and Bréziers. Gigors was an important farming centre “Mas”
under the Roman occupation (I –V century A.D.)
It evolved into a powerful centre of Christianity governed all the way from Marseille
by the monastery of St. Victor.
Two objects of interest:
– a 5–piece stone fountain in dated 1829 which the inhabitants
bought from their seigneur (overlord) in exchange for its weight in grain.
– a millstone, unique in Haute Provence, a copy of the Roman original.
4 – Clamensane gypsum furnace and acquaduct
Follow the road marked Chemin de la Gypière to discover a 19th century
plaster mill and furnace, still in working order. Gypsum is a common mineral
in the region and skilful plasterers have produced beautiful work
in the country sheepfolds and elegant townhouses.
Up the valley towards Vermeil there is a well-preserved aquaduct,
date unknown, possibly used to supply water to a former tile factory.
5 – Nibles church screen
The church contains a remarkable carved walnut screen with painted
panels, of great artistic value, listed as a National Treasure. It survived the
French Revolution because someone had the foresight to hide it from the iconoclasts.
6 – Clamensane, St Amand chapel
Outside the village of Clamensane at 1291 m altitude,
discover a little chapel dedicated to
Saint Amand, recently restored. Originally
a hermitage, it became the object
of a pilgrimage recorded as early as 1600
and faithfully followed until the 1920s.